Frederick County Sustainability Commission accepting nominations for 2018 Sustainability Awards

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission is announcing its fiscal year 2018 Sustainability Awards program to recognize individuals and organizations in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution to advancing sustainability in the County. Awards are presented based on demonstrated leadership, innovation and achievement. Individuals, organizations, businesses (both for-profit and non-profit), and Frederick County employees, offices and municipalities are eligible for awards.

Nominations may be submitted during the period from November 15, 2017 through December 31, 2017 (arriving no later than 5:00 p.m.) to the Office of Sustainability and Environmental Resources, Office of the County Executive, 30 North Market Street, Frederick, MD, 21701 via mail, fax at 301-600-2054 or email.

2018 Sustainability Awards Nomination Forms:

County Organization
County Employee/Office

Visit for help in completing any of the forms linked above.

2016 Winners

• County Employee: Matthew Witmer
• Organization: Natural Fusion Hair Studio
• Individual: Rich Maranto
• Nonprofit Organization: Frederick County Action Agency
• Organization Certificate: AstraZeneca Frederick Manufacturing Center (FMC)
• Individual Certificate: Ginny Brace

Past Winners


County Employee: Tim Goodfellow
County Office: Fleet Services
Community Member: Peter Brehm


Energy Champion, County Employee: Donnie Crum, Assistant Superintendent of Highway Operations
Energy Champion, County Office: Office of Facilities Maintenance, Division of Public Works
Sustainability Leader, County Employee: Jason Jenkins, Division of Parks and Recreation
Sustainability Leader, County Office: Division of Parks and Recreation
Outstanding Partner in Energy and Sustainability: Gary Barkdoll, Manager of Central Shops (Frederick County Public Schools)

The content above was republished from this page on the Frederick County website.

Nomination Forms are due no later than 5:00 PM on December 31, 2017. They should be sent by mail to:

Office of Sustainability and Environmental Resources
Office of the County Executive
30 North Market Street
Frederick MD 21701

…or via email to:

…or by fax to:


Questions? Contact Kim Campbell at 301-600-1416.